Phantom vs Solflare (2026): Fees, Chains and Security Compared
We may earn a referral fee if you sign up through our links. It never changes our scores. How we make money
Tested by Locke
Updated Oct 12, 2026 · 7 min read
Key takeaways
- Phantom vs Solflare: both are self-custody wallets on mobile and browser extension. Phantom covers 9 chains; Solflare calls itself a wallet for Solana only.
- Phantom publishes a 0.85% fee on most swaps. Solflare routes swaps through Jupiter and its help center publishes no fixed swap fee, so check the quote in the app.
- Hardware: Phantom connects a Ledger. Solflare supports Ledger and Keystone, and sells its own Solflare Shield tap-to-sign device from $49.
- Neither wallet had its own systems hacked in our research. In the August 2022 Solana drain, both said they were not affected; the cause was traced to the Slope wallet.
- Perps: Phantom routes to Hyperliquid at 0.095% per trade; Solflare offers perps on the Phoenix order book. Our Phantom score is 4.0; we have not scored Solflare yet.
Phantom
Pick Phantom if you hold tokens on Solana and other chains such as Base, Ethereum or Bitcoin, want a published swap fee, perps on Hyperliquid and a desktop Terminal.
Solflare
Pick Solflare if you use only Solana, want Ledger, Keystone or the Solflare Shield hardware wallet, and native SOL staking on desktop and mobile.
Side-by-side comparison
| Tool | Phantom | Solflare |
|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.0/5 | 3.8/5 |
| Type | Wallet | Wallet |
| Chains | Solana, Ethereum, Base, polygon, BNB Chain, Bitcoin, HyperEVM, Robinhood Chain, Arc | Solana |
| Trading fee | 0.85% | Check in app |
| Reader perk | — | — |
| Referral code | — | — |
| Open Phantom (opens in a new tab) | Open Solflare (opens in a new tab) |
Phantom vs Solflare: both are self-custody crypto wallets for Solana, with in-app swaps, staking and Ledger support. Phantom also covers Ethereum, Base, Bitcoin and 5 more chains and publishes a 0.85% swap fee. Solflare is Solana only and adds Keystone and its own Solflare Shield hardware wallet. Pick Phantom for multi-chain memecoin trading; pick Solflare for a Solana-only wallet with more hardware options.
Quick summary
| Item | Phantom | Solflare |
|---|---|---|
| Custody | Self-custody | Self-custody |
| Swap fee | 0.85% on most swaps | No fixed fee published (Jupiter routing): check in app |
| Chains | 9: Solana, Ethereum, Base, Polygon, BNB Chain, Bitcoin, HyperEVM, Robinhood Chain, Arc | Solana only |
| Apps | Mobile, browser extension, desktop Terminal | Mobile, browser extension, web app |
| Hardware wallets | Ledger | Ledger, Keystone, Solflare Shield |
| Scam protection | Transaction previews (Blowfish), phishing blocklist | Solflare Guards, scam site radar, approval warnings, token checks |
| Staking | Native (extension only) and liquid (PSOL) | Native, desktop and mobile |
| Perps | Hyperliquid, 0.095% per trade | Phoenix order book |
| Card | Prepaid Visa | Solflare Card paused since 28 July 2026; replacement announced, check in app |
| Hack of own systems | None found | None found |
| Our score | 4.0 | Not scored yet |
- Phantom wins on chain coverage, a published swap fee, token discovery and its desktop Terminal.
- Solflare wins on hardware wallet choice, a Solana-only focus and staking guides for both desktop and mobile.
Read the full Phantom review and Solflare review.
Fees
Phantom charges a 0.85% fee on most swaps, plus the network fee, according to its swap help page (opens in a new tab). Perps cost 0.095% per trade: 0.05% Phantom plus 0.045% Hyperliquid.
Solflare routes in-wallet swaps through the Jupiter aggregator. Its mobile swap guide (opens in a new tab) explains the routing, sets default slippage at 0.5% and tells you to keep at least 0.05 SOL for transaction fees. The guide publishes no fixed Solflare swap fee. Third-party reviews disagree on the rate, so we do not quote one: check the swap preview in the app.
| Cost | Phantom | Solflare |
|---|---|---|
| Swap fee | 0.85% | Check in app |
| Fee on a $500 buy | $4.25, before network fee | Check in app |
| Default slippage | Auto (or 0.5% to 30%) | 0.5% |
| Perps fee | 0.095% per trade | Check in app |
| Native stake account | No Phantom fee, network fees only | 0.002 SOL, refunded on close |
To compare the real cost of the same trade, enter the same pair and amount in both wallets and compare the amount you receive. Then check our fee calculator against the 1% fee of most Telegram bots.
Chains
- Phantom: the supported networks page (opens in a new tab) lists Solana, Ethereum, Base, Polygon, BNB Chain, Bitcoin, HyperEVM, Robinhood Chain and Arc. Phantom ended Sui support on 24 September 2026.
- Solflare: the Solflare website (opens in a new tab) calls it "your all-access pass to Solana" and names no other chains. Its Bridge, launched in July 2026, gives deposit addresses on Base, Ethereum, Bitcoin, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, Tron and NEAR, but the funds arrive as Solana assets (FF News (opens in a new tab)). Solflare also ended Solana support in its MetaMask Snap on 11 May 2026 (Solflare help (opens in a new tab)), after MetaMask added Solana natively, according to QuickNode (opens in a new tab).
If you buy pump.fun coins only, both wallets work. If you also hold Base or Ethereum memecoins, Solflare cannot hold them: its Bridge only moves funds into Solana.
Security features
| Feature | Phantom | Solflare |
|---|---|---|
| Transaction check before you sign | Previews built with Blowfish | Solflare Guards inspect every transaction |
| Scam site blocking | Open source phishing blocklist | Suspicious activity radar |
| Spending approval warning | Scam detection warns before you approve a drain | Yes, warns before you sign |
| New token checks | Spam token reporting | Red flag checks on new Solana tokens |
| Hardware wallets | Ledger | Ledger, Keystone, Solflare Shield |
| Bug bounty | Up to $50,000 | Not stated on the security page |
Sources: Phantom security (opens in a new tab) and the Solflare security page (opens in a new tab).
Solflare Shield is Solflare's own "tap-to-sign" hardware wallet for Solana, from $49, according to the Solflare website (opens in a new tab). Keystone support adds an air-gapped option. If you plan to keep a large balance in cold storage, Solflare gives you more hardware choices.
Both help centers warn about frozen tokens. Solflare's frozen token page (opens in a new tab) calls a frozen token account a significant red flag for a scam project.
Staking
- Phantom: native staking to a validator works only in the browser extension, with a 1 SOL minimum (Phantom help (opens in a new tab)). Liquid staking gives you PSOL on mobile and extension, with a 4% protocol fee and a 0.1% exit fee.
- Solflare: native staking works on desktop and mobile (mobile guide (opens in a new tab)). Its staking guide (opens in a new tab) lists a 1 SOL network minimum and a 0.002 SOL stake account fee that you get back when you close the account. Solflare shows the chosen validator's performance and tells you to compare commission, uptime and stake size.
If you want to stake from your phone without a liquid staking token, Solflare is the simpler path.
Features for memecoin traders
| Feature | Phantom | Solflare |
|---|---|---|
| In-app swaps | Yes | Yes, through Jupiter |
| Trending tokens | Yes | Live market updates and trend detection |
| Desktop trading page | Terminal with Quick Buy, wallet tracking | Not stated |
| Limit orders | Mobile app | Not stated |
| Perps | Hyperliquid, not in the US or UK | Phoenix order book, USDC stays in your wallet, not in the US or UK |
| Sniping, copy trading, auto-sell | No | No |
| Debit card | Prepaid Visa | Paused since July 2026: check in app |
Neither wallet is a sniper. For fast entries on new launches, traders pair a wallet with a bot or a terminal. See the Trojan review, the Axiom review and BasedBot. Locke works with BasedBot; it is scored with the same methodology. See the BasedBot review and the best sniper bots.
Incidents
- Slope drain (August 2022): about $4 million left thousands of Solana wallets. Phantom said its systems were not compromised (The Block (opens in a new tab)). Early reports named Solflare too, but Solflare told TechCrunch (opens in a new tab) it was not affected. Developers traced the drain to the Slope wallet.
- Phantom only: the Demonic browser bug was patched by April 2022, and a 2025 lawsuit alleges a key-storage flaw; Phantom says the claims are without merit. Details are in the Phantom review.
- Solflare only: we found no hack of Solflare's own systems. Fake Solflare sites exist, so only use the official links. Solflare's help page on stolen funds (opens in a new tab) says it cannot reverse transactions or recover stolen funds.
Who should pick which
Pick Phantom if:
- You hold tokens on Solana and on Base, Ethereum, Bitcoin or another supported chain.
- You want a published swap fee (0.85%) before you trade.
- You want a desktop Terminal with Quick Buy and wallet tracking, or perps on Hyperliquid.
- You want liquid staking with PSOL.
Pick Solflare if:
- You use only Solana.
- You want Keystone or the Solflare Shield hardware wallet, not only Ledger.
- You want to stake SOL natively from your phone.
Many traders use both: one as the home wallet and one for trading. New to wallets? Read what self-custody means and how to buy memecoins, then compare the best memecoin trading platforms.
How to start
- 1
Download from the official site
Use the buttons below or the official links. Do not install a wallet from ads or links in direct messages. - 2
Save the seed phrase offline
Write the recovery phrase on paper. Never store it in a screenshot or a chat. - 3
Do one small swap
Send a little SOL, keep at least 0.05 SOL for fees, and do one small swap. Check the fee and the amount you receive on the review screen.
Changelog
- 2026-10-12: first comparison published. Both wallets tested with real trades; facts checked against official help centers.